The Pity Post

I got laid-off from my real world gig last night. It would seem that my years of hustle and experience costs the company just too darned much.
Good luck with those $7 an hour, part-time high school kids, there, boss.
If you’re feeling pity for me, and you aren’t a human if you don’t, click on THIS SITE AND BUY A PHOTO. Actually get something for your money!
Com’on, baby needs a new pair of shoes.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mediumatlarge.wordpress.com/2007/08/15/the-pity-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dude. Sorry to hear that. At least now you’ll have the time to concentrate on your competitive eating career, which is nice.

  2. Damn dude. I hate that.

    Been there, it’s been a while. No good words about it.

    You got a marketable skill though, and now is a good time for companies who will hire (as opposed to the holidays), so get to it man. Pulling for ya

  3. Hey Harrison, I feel for ya man. I’ve been there too.

    Life has it’s hills and valleys. That doesn’t make it any easier right now, but it will get better.

    I know from your comments at IB that you’re a smart, funny guy. I know you’ll bounce right back.

    Hope to see you around IB amigo.

  4. Harrison, that’s awful. I think most of us have been there. So tell me, what have you got in the way of landscape shots with water, preferrably a stream or lake?

    Guess I won’t be buying that slide scanner from your former company.

  5. I admit I’m a glass half-full guy but I think you should look at this as just a little skid mark on the shorts of life. I’ll bet this time next year you’ll think back on this a marvel how fortunate you are this happened. Ok, I’m going to go look at pictures now…

  6. this a marvel = this and marvel

    me grammar no good.

  7. Thanks for the kind words, folks. I, also, tend to be a one door closes, another one opens (or you go out the window) kind of guy. The main bother comes from the fact that I was planning on getting out of this job anyways, just not so abruptly. I guess I’m into the freelance business a little sooner than I thought.

    Cranky, that scanner is still a good product for the price. I’ll be getting one…after I find a JOB!

  8. It’s all ball bearings nowadays anyway. Sorry for your lack of income and I hope things turn out for the best. Hypothetically speaking, what would be the best way to get a print made from one of your (beautiful and legally purchased) photos? Put it on a CD and take it to Walmart? I don’t do this for a living.

  9. Skinbad, yes you can. They’ll do a pretty good job. A camera/photo lab place will do a better job though it may cost more. Another option is uploading it to a printing site like Mpix.com. Good quality at good prices.
    The images are sized for around 8×10 or so at 300 dots per inch. 300 d.p.i. is magazine quality printing. It’s not necessary for prints for the wall thus you can print them larger at, say, 200 d.p.i.

    (beautiful and legally purchased)
    Thank you. You are a gentleman and a scholar.

  10. Hang in there bro.

  11. You were planning on leaving anyway? What a stroke of luck! They broke your inertia and you still get some unemployment compensation.

    Portals to a different life rarely come so easy.

  12. LauraW,
    word.

  13. Hey bro, when I heard the news it felt like a punch in the gut and a slap upside the head…HUH? I’ve seen everyone’s selling abilities/technique in that store and, to be kind, G was a way distant second and yes then there are the 2 nice but scary highschool kids…..

    I think Old World Mean Guy just stepped on his wank.

    I’ve got yer # and will call, I miss our political roundtables…..and I promised you some ‘que!!

    cheers, Bob

  14. When my husband was laid off, it was the best thing that ever happened to him, we just didn’t know it at the time.

    After looking for another middle management type job for about a year, (we had savings, and sold some property), he had an opportunity to start a web business with another guy he had worked with at his old company. The first year was rocky, but the business grew to the point where now we’re doing better than ever before.

    You’re so right about the door thing.


Leave a Reply

