A Walk In The Snow

The “white death” came to Arlington today. So the wife and I took a stroll around the neighborhood.
Here’s the shot out of the front window.

dsc_0002a.jpg

The buses were following the snowplows. Pretty smart.

dsc_0007a.jpg

We headed over to Arlington National Cemetery. I have always found graveyards fascinating. My beloved? Not so much.

dsc_0011a.jpg

Here’s my honey shooting at something. She grew up in the Far East of Russia. She thinks snow is normal. In fact, she revels in it.
I grew up in the southern U.S. I can’t stand the stuff. Somehow we get along. Just one of life’s little mysteries, I guess.

dsc_0018a.jpg

The Custis-Lee House.

dsc_0021a.jpg

Major General Kearney of New Jersey.

dsc_0033a.jpg

A few views.
dsc_0042a.jpg

dsc_0043a.jpg

dsc_0046a.jpg

I didn’t see anyone on a bicycle.

dsc_0037a.jpg

Back to my ‘hood. Kids playing in the park. Enjoy it while you can, youngsters. You’ll come to hate it, too.

dsc_0060a.jpg

Home again, home again, jiggety-jig.

dsc_0066a.jpg

It’s raining now; so, it’ll freeze tonight. Fun for the morning rushhour.

Published in: on February 25, 2007 at 7:19 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mediumatlarge.wordpress.com/2007/02/25/a-walk-in-the-snow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very nice. BTW, I came across a video that made me think of you for some reason. The language gets salty a couple of minutes in. I didn’t make it all the way through. But you might like the beginning.

  2. How beautiful. I’ve been to Arlington National Cemetery many times, but have never seen it covered in snow. It’s lovely.

    I wrote a little about Arlington in this old IB post – the pictures are gone now, but they were stock stuff. Anyway, some of my thoughts about visiting there,

    http://michaelscomments.wordpress.com/2006/03/31/a-soldier-comes-home/

  3. Very nice pictures; excellent work! I’ve spent most of my live in northeast Ohio, so snow is normal to me too.


Leave a Reply

